Skip to content

This is INSANE!

May 9, 2010

Well, this post was supposed to go up on Friday. Oh well, what’s a couple of days anyway?

What is INSANE! you ask? This is INSANE! :

So my BFF called me about a week ago and said “Have you seen the commercials for that new Insanity workout? If I buy it will you do it with me?” I said “Sure! I’ve seen the commercials…it can’t be that bad, right?” WRONG! He got the dvds in the mail on Thursday and we did the Fit Test on Friday. OH.MY.GOD. Let’s just say I haven’t been able to move for the past two days. And that was just the Fit Test-not even a regular workout. (It didn’t help that I ate 3 donuts for breakfast that morning!) We are going to start the workouts on Monday. So I’ll probably die.

And here’s where I get brave. We took pictures of ourselves and took measurements before we started and I’m going to keep up with my INSANE! progress here. (Yes, every time I type INSANE! it will be in all caps and with at least one exclamation point) So here I am in all of my INSANE! glory:

Stats:

Weight: 128-ish

Fat: 24%

BMI: 22

Arms: 11″

Thighs: 21″

Hips: 32″

Waist: 38″

Bust: 35″

We’ll do the Fit Test again at day 15, so that will be the next time I post an INSANE! update. That is, if I’m still alive.

On to other topics, I did make a deeeelicious dinner Friday night! I call it “Quinoa with Roasted Vegetables.” Creative, I am. It was super easy to make. I chopped up a bunch of vegetables that we had in the fridge, threw them on a pan with olive oil, salt and pepper, and roasted them in the oven at 425 degrees until they were tender. I used carrots, broccoli, onions, fresh corn and squash:

While that was roasting I cooked up some quinoa. First I soaked it in a pan for about 15 minutes. I read somewhere why you should do this, but I can’t remember. I always do it though.

Then drain that water and add back to the pan twice as much water as quinoa. Bring it to a boil and then reduce to a simmer until all of the water is absorbed. I added salt and pepper at this point, then mixed all of the vegetables into the quinoa and voila!

(I forgot to take a picture before I started devouring it. This is about half-way through!)

The BF added soy sauce to his, but I ate mine plain. Great either way. Quinoa is super good for you. One 1/4 cup serving (dry) has 172 calories, 2.8 grams of fat, no saturated fat, 3 grams of fiber and 6 grams of protein.

Well, I’ll be back later with a weekend update and a garden update. Happy Mother’s Day!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

