Skip to content

Tweet, tweet!

May 2, 2010

It seems that my life has been filled with birds these days, at work and at home.

A few days ago I noticed a small little brown bird (a female house finch) sitting on the hanging basket on my front porch. I watched her for a few minutes and she jumped down into the flowers in the pot. I pulled up a chair (yes, I am that much of a nerd). Then I proceeded to watch her fly across the street to our neighbor’s yard, land on their palm tree, rip the fibers from said palm tree, fly back to our hanging basket and jump inside. She was building a nest! On our porch! So I could watch! (Well, probably not that last part) I’ve been peeking into the basket every day to check the status of the nest.

Pictured above is the nest on day 2 of Nest Watch 2010. Not quite a nest shape, but it’s coming together. You can see that the birds found some stuffed animal stuffing. Wonder where they got that?

And here is the nest on day 5 of Nest Watch 2010.

 How gosh-darn cute is that?! Their nest is so perfectly nest-shaped. It’s unfortunate that my plant is probably going to die as a sacrifice to this cuuuuuute thing. The flowers would be a nice background for the photos to come! And I’m sure my neighbors are going to love that I will have a dead plant hanging on my porch!

Stay tuned for the next installment!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 3, 2010 1:46 pm

    We have a married bird couple in our ferns. We can’t even water it anymore because we don’t want to mess up their nest!

Leave a Reply

