Skip to content

Busy Weekend

April 5, 2010

I love weekends when I feel like I got a lot accomplished. This weekend was one of those.

Saturday I didn’t exactly do as I had planned. I slept in which felt soooo nice. When I got up I ate breakfast and went for a run (2.7 miles-felt like longer). When I got home I showered and got dressed for the day. By this time I was feeling quite lazy and did not want to bake the second dessert-so I didn’t! I figured between the first dessert and all of the Easter candy, we would have enough sweets. I headed out to the ‘rents house and stopped by Michael’s craft store on the way. I could spend my life savings there! I picked up a few essentials for some cakes I am baking in the next few weeks.

I had so much fun at my parents’ house. My SIL & brother were there. We dyed Easter eggs, had a huge dinner and my mom made us a giant Easter basket with “retro” candy:

It was so good. Of course my favorite were the Razzles-candy that turns into gum. I also enjoyed the Nik-l-Nips and the Zots candy.

Sunday was also a productive day. I did a little rearranging in the garden, watered the new plants in the front yard, did the laundry, cleaned up the house, etc. But the highlight of my day was the bread making! I found my new favorite recipe on Smitten Kitchen: Light Wheat Bread. Here’s a few pics of the process:

The dry ingredients-

All mixed up and ready to rise-

Ready for the pan-

So yummilicious!

Seriously, this is the best bread I have ever tasted. The crumb is perfect, the crust is not too thick, not too thin. The next time I bake it, I will post step by step photos. It’s really simple to make, but a little time-consuming (there’s a lot of waiting-that’s where the laundry comes in!)

I also made this for dinner:

Not a traditional Easter dinner, but simple and yummy! Homemade pizza dough, olive oil & garlic, sharp cheddar & mozzarella cheese, mushrooms, zucchini, broccoli and tomatoes. This would be good with chicken too.

Today was so unproductive. I only worked half a day (LAAAAZY!) and then went to “the big city” with my poor, sick BF. We helped his mom transport some new doors for her house and I bought a couple of gifts for upcoming events. I’m headed off to read now. I’m currently working on the book “Food Matters.” It’s really interesting. I’ll be sure to review it when I’m done. Next on the library list “The Omnivore’s Dilemma.” I am really considering cutting waaaaay back on my meat/animal product consumption (except cheese and butter-I cannot live without those). We’ll see how I feel after I finish these books. Stay tuned!

Cheers!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

