Skip to content

Garden Update!

April 4, 2010

Here is the square foot garden at Week 4. Wow, I cannot believe it’s been a month!

I made some changes this week. I dug up the areas where there were going to be flowers. It seemed that the flower seeds just did not want to sprout! I added these two plants (sorry about the blurry pics…it was really windy outside today):

a bell pepper and…

…an anaheim pepper. I hope these are more productive than the flowers!

I also dug out what I think was a weed growing in the cucumber square and added 3 cucumber sprouts:

You’re only supposed to plant 2 cucumbers per square, so we’ll see what happens with three!

The broccoli now looks like broccoli. I can’t wait to eat this:

This week I replanted the carrot, spinach and lettuce seeds that had not sprouted yet. I don’t think the lettuce or spinach will make it because it’s getting too hot here. If not, I’ll try again in the fall! I figure this year there is a learning curve for deciding what to plant when.

Also, there is still a “mystery sprout” in the zucchini square. It’s not in the spot where I planted the zucchini plant, but the leaves look just like the zucchini plants at Lowe’s. I’m going to let it keep growing and we’ll all be surprised together!

I’ll update again next week!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

