Skip to content

*Phew* What a weekend!

March 28, 2010

Well, it’s been a pretty productive weekend around my household. Here’s a quick rundown:

Saturday morning I attempted to go for a run. I was scheduled to run 3 miles and, well, that didn’t happen. My allergies started giving me trouble Monday morning (stupid cedars and oaks!) and it just went downhill from there. By Friday night I was coughing so much it hurt and it looked like I was constantly crying. Saturday morning I woke up feeling much better and naively thought that I could get a run in. As soon as I walked outside my face puffed up again, but I kept on going. After about half of a mile my lungs felt like they were on fire and I could barely breathe! I walked/jogged for about 1.5 miles and ended up back home. I decided to just give myself a break from running for the rest of the weekend and get back into it on Monday. We’ll see how that goes tomorrow!

After my failed run I cleaned myself up and headed down to Wilmington. My BFFs live in Hampstead (about 15 minutes from Wilmington) and I was headed down there anyway to babysit their 11 month old baby so that they could go out to dinner, so I went down a little early to go to the Fresh Market in Wilmington. I did a little shopping-bought some snacks and some new fruit to try, then headed back up to Poplar Grove Plantation where they were having their annual plant sale. I walked around for about 20 or 30 minutes and ended up only buying one plant-an “upright rosemary.” I didn’t see much else that I needed/wanted.

So then I headed to my friends’ house where I stayed until about 8:30. They were so excited to be able to go out to a quiet, peaceful, baby-less dinner. Rowan (the baby) and I played with lots of toys and watched the Baby Einstein Mozart DVD. I fed him dinner and by the time we were done with that, his parents were home. We had a blast and when I left he actually cried-SO SWEET! I promised him I would come back to play soon. (I’m not going to post any pics from the night, because I’m unsure how my friends feel about their child’s photos on the internet)

Today was another yard work/gardening day. I ran to Lowe’s first thing this morning and bought the peach tree that I have  been wanting for a while. Here it is in my yard when I got home:

It’s got pretty little purple flowers on it. It’s going to be nice when it gets big.

I also did a little weeding in the garden today. Here’s my weekly update (Week 3):

Not too many changes from last week. You can see the radishes (3rd row, first square on the left) a little better. This week a few onions have started to appear:

and a cucumber sprout:

and a few spinach sprouts:

 

All four bean sprouts are out and the strawberry plants are looking a little better than last week. There are also a couple of “mystery plants” that have showed up in the zucchini section. I know that they are not zucchini plants but they are so big that I don’t want to pull them up. Soooo, until the zucchini sprout makes an appearance, I’m going to let them grow so I can figure out what they are. 

As for the rest of the day, I spent it in the kitchen. I’ve been eyeballing a couple of bread recipes and decided to tackle them today. First on the agenda were these babies:

They are bread cones. And they are oh.so.good. I plan on stuffing one tomorrow for lunch with chicken salad. I’ve also got plans to possibly make one into a pizza cone. YUM!

Next up..english muffins:

These were a little disappointing. They taste great-so much better than store-bought, but they just didn’t get the rise that store bought ones have. We’ll see if I still feel the same way in the morning when I eat one for breakfast.

So, that’s pretty much a summary of my weekend. We’re off to get Blizzards from Dairy Queen (I get one treat a week, right?!) and then I’m going to make some chicken salad and head off to bed to read and watch my Sunday night programs (Extreme Makeover: Home Edition and Desperate Housewives). Hope you had a great weekend too!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2010 9:36 am

    We don’t have anything sprouting in our garden yet :(. Those bread cones look so yummy!! Can’t wait for us both to be taking pictures of our food on Easter Sunday..haha! I’m sure we will be made fun of.

    • March 29, 2010 10:41 am

      Just you wait..there will be sprouts before you know it! I’m soooo looking forward to Easter. I give myself one “off” day a week and I’m saving it for Sunday! Old (eating) habits die hard, ya know?!

Leave a Reply

